Welcome

Thank you for visiting my website. I appreciate your support of my work. I have such fun sharing my books at schools, libraries, festivals and conferences. At every stop, I meet amazing kids and educators. I always leave feeling inspired.

Thanks, too, for your great reception of the Jada Jones chapter book series. I love the kind reviews, notes and pictures you've sent and posted.

Great news: Sing a Song: How Lift Every Voice Inspired Generations is here! Illustrated by acclaimed artist Keith Mallett, this historical fiction picture book imagines five generations in one family singing the Black National Anthem and drawing strength and hope from it. Inspired by the history of Lift Every Voice & Sing, Keith brought each scene to life in moving and memorable ways. Excited about sharing the book and hearing stories about what the song means to people around the country.

I'm also thrilled my picture book - Going Down Home with Daddy - continues to earn accolades. Illustrator Daniel Minter's brilliant art fills me up each time I look at it. Thank you to the Georgia Center of the Book for choosing our book as the featured children's title for Georgia at the

National Book Festival. What an honor.

Wishing you laughter, peace and lots of love. Thanks so much for supporting my work and celebrating children's literature.

Happy Reading,

Kelly

 
 
Jada Jones is back for the fourth book of this popular, celebrated series perfect for STEM fans!

"Readers who love Ivy and Bean or Katie Woo will want to meet Jada Jones." --School Library Journal


When the student council decides to host a dance as their next fundraiser, Jada feels nervous and queasy. She's excited to give back, but she can't dance! Still, she's determined to help the cause and show she cares. She practices her moves, gets help from friends, and even does research at the library to prepare--but will it be enough to help her create change in her community?

Paperback available for order here. Hardcover available for order here.